top of page
Search

Vulnerability and Luck

I have a trip to Chicago next week for a wedding I don't really care about. That means missing another week of work and a dent in my income right at the time I have to pay more for rent, which means I won't be able to go on the trip I want to participate it. It's a huge bummer but I am keeping my hopes up and wishing for the best.

I have the opportunity to work for a night while I am in Chicago and I am super grateful for that. My partner describes it as "luck". He says "you're so lucky you get to work while on vacation". I respond with "I'd be lucky if I made enough money to not HAVE to work on vacation". He says "you're so lucky you can make that kind of money" implying that my job is somehow easy and I enjoy every aspect of it. My job is wonderful and I couldn't imagine doing anything outside of sex work, but it is just that; a job.

DomCon LA 2019

If I wasn't in such a vulnerable position I wouldn't be taking more time and energy to provide for myself. My work schedule would remain at a comfortable level and I wouldn't have to work through the pain of a knee injury or accept income from people I am not totally comfortable with. My vulnerability is his luck.

Now I know I shouldn't be so offended by this but it's comments like these that perpetuate the stigma of sex work. Sex work is "easy" because I can get a job anywhere. Sex work is "fun" because I can make a lot of money. Sex work isn't "real work". In reality the job is much more difficult that I previously imagined. I enjoy the freedom of being able to travel and often being financially secure enough to take time off to enjoy my travel. On the other side every moment out of town becomes an opportunity to make income and the experiences ceases to be mine.

As far as income goes, I don't even make a comfortable wage by my friends definition. She says comfortable income is being able to pay for necessities, put money in savings and have money to spend for entertainment and other goods within reason of course. Now let me tell you, my savings hasn't gone far in a long time.

Comfort, luck and vulnerability look differently to everyone. Right now I would like a break but I am going to continue to be grateful for a body that is mostly able to keep me afloat and the opportunity to work while I am out of town.


If you would like to book a session with me please send me a message on my contact page and we can start a discussion!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page